Can’t Draw a Straight Line?

If I had a nickle for every time I’ve heard that! – I’d be…Well never mind.  Maybe you have said that yourself.  Maybe you have said it often enough that you have come to believe it.  I’d like to change your mind, and hear you say things like… “I can not only draw straight lines, but curves as well.  And I can arrange them in such a way as to look like something – something I intended!”

Just for a moment forget what you think you know about your artistic abilities.  Open up to the possibility of learning to draw and enjoying the process.  It’s not a party trick. I believe that with the proper training anyone can learn a few time tested drawing techniques used by artists  all over the world.  I’m not saying that you will be the next Michelangelo.  I am saying that it will add a new creative dimension to your life.  You will have another way of expressing yourself that is fun and fulfilling.

Imagine that you are on vacation somewhere, anywhere – your favorite place or a place you are visiting for the first time.  You’ve snapped about a thousand pictures so far and they are great.  Now you have a couple of hours where you could nap, or read a book OR take out your pocket sketch book and record a couple of impressions of where you are right now by drawing.  Sketching  has a way of  making a lasting impression on our memories that taking a photo can’t touch.  Sketching makes an image personal, more intimate.

If you would like to learn how to draw a straight line and curved lines I have a great opportunity for you!  I’ll be teaching 2 workshops in Barga, Italy (Tuscany).  The first one is called “Seeing with the Artists Eye”, Saturday, September 18, 2010 from 10am – 6pm (with a break for lunch).  The second is “Beginning Pastel Painting” Sunday, September 26, from 10am – 6pm.   That is where we take your new drawing skills and learn to add color.

I’m teaming up with my good friend and author/writing coach Diana Scimone, who will be teaching “How to Write a Book” 101 and 102.  Her workshops will be held Sunday, September 19 and Saturday, September 25.  So it is possible to attend all 4 workshops!

To register to boost your creative expression, click Here.  Register by June 15 and save 50%!!!

See you in Tuscany!

Leave a comment

Filed under art, travel, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

